Monday, October 20, 2008

9 Tricks for Getting a Table (VIP Status) at Hot Restaurants



Here are 9 tips for becoming a VIP who skips lines and gets tables. Test even a few and you’ll almost always get amazing treatment at the very restaurants others can barely get into.

1. Start at the bar. Try having a meal there. Chat with the bartender a bit; introduce yourself to the Maitre d’ and get her or his card. Ask if the owner is around and introduce yourself to her or him.

2. Ask the waiter to ask the chef two questions: First, What does everyone order, and Second, what does almost no one order but the chef thinks everyone should. Then order them both. Chefs want to show off their popular dishes, but often have an item on the menu they are really proud of, and really want people to try. I first did this at The Slanted Door in San Francisco. A cook actually came out to say hello because he thought it was so unusual.

3. Be one of the first customers. If you read local food-blogs, or visit sites like chow.com or zagat.com, you’ll know what’s opening and who’s opening it. If it sounds good, go. Businesses frame their first bucks and treasure their first customers.

4. If you like it, come back for two more meals that very week. I went to a great NYC restaurant called Union Pacific for lunch the week it opened. I loved it and came back for dinner that night, lunch the next day, and dinner later that week. They never forgot me. After Union Pacific became white hot, I could score a reservation any time I wanted – even if I hadn’t been there for months. Even though the restaurant is sadly gone, I’ve kept up with some of the alums – and they now work in some of the city’s best restaurants.

5. Be forgiving. Even VIPs sometimes have to wait, get spilled on, or get the wrong dish. VIPs are often simply people who were good sports when all didn’t go as planned. You don’t have to be a milquetoast – but if the restaurant knows it messed up, you can score major points by not making a big deal about it or using it as an excuse to try to score freebies.

6. Send compliments to the chef – especially when you are specific about what you like. I know it sounds dorky – but it’s almost always appreciated. If you really love the place, send a note to the chef. Very few people do this.

7. Tip 25% if you like the place and got pretty good service. At very fancy restaurants, tip the Maitre d’ too. If you can’t afford to tip properly, then you can’t afford that restaurant. Go someplace you can afford.

8. Choose the cheapest wine. Or choose a wine you know and like. Or one that intrigues you. Or just ask for help. But don’t choose the second cheapest wine, unless it’s a wine you know and like. (The cheapest is often a good, smart value; the second cheapest is sometimes a sucker’s play – a bad deal put specifically on the wine list for all the people who don’t know wine, don’t want to ask, but don’t want to look cheap by ordering the cheapest).

9. Ask to be treated like a VIP. Okay, I saved the most obvious for last. But it works. There’s a restaurant called Matsuri in New York. I went and loved it. So I called the manager, told her that I was crazy about the place, and would entertain there a lot if I could be pretty sure that I would be nicely looked after. I’ve been treated like a prince there ever since. And I do entertain there whenever I can – both for business meals and with friends. There may be new restaurants cropping up all the time, but Matsuri is still one of NYC’s best and has me for life.

*This article was not written by me*

Saturday, October 18, 2008

How To Dominate In The Nightclub




*some of the following lines, and scripts can be brutal. Make sure you are a positive dude, and not using these with hate. This is powerful stuff that I use personally when I have to, and make sure you use it for fun, NOT to destroy someone.*


Definitons:

- Amog (The alpha male of the group)
- thread (the topic of conversation)
- Frame (the context, and who dictates the reality and attention of the group)

K, this is a lesson on how to never get tooled at the club. Ever. Too many guys are getting tooled by other dudes. Guys stealing others girls. Guys acting like pricks.
It is a hostile environment for those not quite comfortable yet. I see this more and more, and I now feel like I have to do something about it. 97% of guys are getting rocked, and have no clue on how to verbally defend themselves. This is the full deal.

I will show you how to verbally spar, and tool any guy who tries to steal your girls, or cut you down.

This is NOT a lesson on how to not get tooled by girls. If you are having problems attracting girls, then email me, and I can sell you one. This is guys on guys only.

*If you are a girl reading this, keep reading, this shit is hilarious, you will derive hot, and sexy pleasure *


Never feel intimidated again. I got pissed last night at the 3% of guys tooling, and fucking with 97% of all the other guys. I was pissed because A) These guys have no chance of ever "getting it" unless someone teaches them. And B) None of these guys would give a shit to teach them. Well, I was one of the 3%, and even though I love tooling (its a nightclub, that is how it goes), I think we need to even the playing field. Call it a heroic mission from god.. All the tips and strategies I am about to share are used by me, and used with success. This is not philosiphy 101. This is how not to be a chode 20-motha fuckin 2!


Wow. So here is the deal. This has been eating at me for a while, and every time I see it just makes me cringe. I would say that over 97% of dudes in the club are oblivious to the subtle social cues that go on in any interaction. As a result, there is the 3% of "cool guys" that know what is up, either from going to clubs and highly socialized situations for years; or just having that natural awareness about them. Regardless, most, if not almost all dudes I see in a club are looking and acting like total chumps.

Why do we go to a club? To have a good time, meet people, and have adventures. At least that is why I go. To get laid you say? Nah. That is not the reason I go there. Sure, those are there, and I love shooting the shit with girls... I love girls. But I do not go there like 95% of dudes who go there to get laid. There is nothing wrong with getting laid, but there is something wrong with needing to go to the club to desperately snatch a girl, and drag her back to your world of war craft cave...

If you go there only to get laid, and you are NOT one of the cool dudes, and if you have any tinge of nervousness, insecurity or ulterior motive other than just having a good time and seeing where that takes you, the girl will smell that a mile away, and you are done. You may get scraps. Hey, you may have ONLY ever gotten scraps, and therefore think you are actually pulling hotties.

Listen, literally almost every guy is horrible as far as navigating around the club scene, so chances are this means you.

You may not want to admit that you are not the pimp deluxe hybrid gigolo you thought you were, but destruction is the only true way to creation. Learn from my words today, they are wise words, that can transform your results with women, and social success in general.

Straight up, I could teach you everything you need to know about not acting like an idiot in the club. How to get virtually any girl you desire, and basically be the "man" of the club. The alpha male. Listen, im not perfect, and sometimes I can resort to old immature needy behaviors. Nobody is perfect. However, I do seem to have an ability to notice social mistakes, where as most guys can't. Hell, they don't even know what they don't knot they don't know! If you are one of those dudes, let me help pull you out. If you apply what I will teach you, there will be a dramatic improvement in your self esteem, as you can now handle more social pressure.

I am going to teach you how to NEVER get tooled by other guys again. Ever.
This happens all the time, and maybe you don't even notice. You could be talking to some girls, you could even be out with your girlfriend, and some dude(s) roll up, and tool your ass. Outwit you. Beta you. Make you seem like a loser, and then girls gone bye bye. You could be having a good time, and walk into a group to see if they are cool, and bam... the dude is an asshole to you. Do you know what to do? Are you 100% confident you could befriend him? Or, take away his girls if you so desire? How about verbally spar back and forth, holding your own?

Here is what you can do:

Ignore him. Disaknowledge his conversational thread. Cut it off, and start your own

 If he is reacting to you while you ignore him, he is destroyed and meanwhile the girls get massive attraction for you.

 In other words, less is more. The more words you use to amogl him, or the more attention you give him in the process, the more power you are ceding to him. So give him the least possible attention, the least possible face time, the least possible words as necessary. Once you throw out an AMOG maneuver, then immediately turn away from him and move on to another thread.

 When you say something funny, if humorous enough, everyone laughs and thus the frame is implicitly accepted by the group. Humor is vital for frame control because it enforces your frames.

 Replace his threads all you want. Even use threads that are totally unrelated. Also negs such as “Is he always like this?” and “You can dress him up . . . but you can’t take him anywhere . . .”

 Label him. Mr. Friendly. Captain Sensitive. Hero. Chief. Guy. Buddy. Etc. Make sure you don’t come off like a jerk when you are doing this, or people will treat you like a violator. Preserve plausible deniability. Ask him if he is tired, or sick, or needs help, etc. You: “Are you ok dude?
You seem tired.” Him: “I’m not tired, I’m fine.” (Now he’s explaining himself to you.)

 Frame him as a try-hard. He is being too explainy, or too technical, or too deep, or too interested, etc. Say “What are you freaking out about?” or “Hey man we’re just having a good time, just be yourself, here, have a drink. You’ll like it.” Be friendly when you do this.

 - Put a frame on his behaviors, so that his typical tricks don’t work because they play into your frame. For example, if he touches, say that you aren’t gay. If he says he’s not gay either, say “You don’t have to explain yourself to me bro.” (Like he was trying to impress you.) As soon as he tries to deny it or explain it, say “don’t sweat it man” or “it’s ok bro, we think you’re cool”—in other words frame him like he is trying to explain himself and you are telling him not to worry about it so much. Then he says, “But I’m not worried” and you say, “Dude it’s ok, calm down, it’s no big deal.” Continually framing him like he cares too much. As he gets more reactive, he digs his hole deeper and deeper.

- Any kind of negative presumptions. “How old will you be when your mother stops dressing you?”—“Did you ever stop seeing that one girl? I thought she was cute, I don’t care what people said about her weight.”—“Hey man your wife and kids called, they wanna know when the heat’s gonna be back on.”—“I don’t care what they say . . . Bro you are a cool guy, don’t ever let anyone tell you different.”

- Go to the absurd. “Oh . . . OH-KAY . . . alright,” (Hands in the air, talking like you take it sooooo seriously.) Not even finishing your sentences, like it isn’t important enough to you. In your own reality, not reacting to his reality.

 Ask him if he gets a lot of girls, or if he has a girlfriend. Use his shirt or his muscles “Damn bro, you must get a lot of girls with that shirt.” Now he either agrees, in which case you laugh that he left his girl at home to try to fuck more girls. Or he disagrees, in which case you say “Don’t worry bro, some day it will happen for you, just be yourself.”

 Just pick her up and carry her away. As long as you slam her buying temperature, she will enjoy it and forget whatever just happened. Now you have her isolated and you can start a new vibe from there.

 If he touches me, I frame him like I thought he was being gay. Now whenever he touches, he plays into that frame. Another example: whenever he says something to show his value, you frame it like he’s trying to impress you. Now every time he talks, he looks like a tryhard. He tries to show dominance by giving advice. I reply by saying, “Bro you’ve got some good ideas. Let me tell you what you need to do about that xyz issue. Your delivery is all wrong . . .” Now you are the one giving him advice


There. That should be good enough for now. If you had problems in the past with dudes tooling you, these should be enough to never have that problem again. I could write a book on this kind of shit. Any questions, just message me. I am happy to clarify.

It Does.